122 Scorer Street, Lincoln, Lincolnshire LN7 7SX
Telephone: 01522 804167 |

Commission for Social Care Inspection

The Commission for Social Care Inspection (CSCI) inspect and report on care services and councils to improve social care and stamp out bad practice. There are three different types of inspection:

Key inspections

Key inspections are a thorough look at how well the service is doing. They take into account detailed information provided by the service's owner or manager, and any complaints or concerns we have received since the last inspection.

Inspectors also ask the views of the people who use those services and their relatives and supporters (people who speak up for or advocate for the person using services).

Inspectors look at how well the service is meeting the standards (National Minimum Care Standards Adults (18-65)) set by the government and decide how they will inspect the service in future.

These inspections are mainly unannounced.

Random inspections

Random inspections are short, targeted inspections which focus on specific issues that have come up or check on improvements that should have been made.

The CSCI also use random inspections to investigate complaints, and sometimes visit for no reason at all.

Random inspections are normally unannounced and can take place at any time of the day or night.

Thematic inspections

Thematic inspections focus on a specific issue, such as medication, or a specific area or region so that they can look at trends.

The CSCI produce reports for the government and the public about what is happening in England's care services based on what they find.


To view our latest CSCI report